Joyeeta Gupta

Full professor of environment and development in the Global South at the Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research of the University of Amsterdam and IHE Institute for Water Education in Delft. Joyeeta Gupta leads the programme group on Governance and Inclusive Development. She was professor on Climate Change Policy and Law at the Vrije Universiteit in Amsterdam, lead author of IPCC reports and the Millennium Ecosystem Assessment and co-chair of UN Environment’s Global Environmental Outlook-6 (2016-2019).

Dahe Qin

A world leading expert of climate and cryosphereric science, an academician of both the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) and the Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS). Professor Qin Dahe is currently Director of the Academic Committee of CAS, and Honorary Director of the State Key Laboratory of Cryospheric Science in Northwest Institute of Eco-Environment and Resources of CAS. Among many other roles he was co-chair of Working Group I of the fourth and fifth assessment report of IPCC.

Johan Rockström

Director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and Professor at the Institute of Earth and Environmental Science at Potsdam University, Germany. Johan Rockström is an internationally recognised expert on global sustainability and global water resources. He has developed the Planetary Boundaries framework and (co-)chairs the advisory boards of Future Earth and the EAT Foundation and holds the chair of the Earth League.


Xuemei Bai
Distinguished Professor
Australian National University
Urbanisation and sustainability

Govindasamy Bala
Indian Institute of Science
Climate and carbon cycle, hydrology, deforestation

Stuart Bunn
Australian Rivers Institute, Griffith University
Freshwater science and management

Fabrice DeClerck
Science Director, Sr Scientist
EAT, Alliance of Bioversity
Food systems and biodiversity

Sandra Díaz
Córdoba National University, CONICET, IPBES
Biodiversity, plant ecology, ecosystems ecology

Kristie Ebi
University of Washington
Health risks of climate change

Peng Gong
Tsinghua University
Global environment monitoring, modelling and planetary health

Christopher Gordon
Associate Professor
University of Ghana
Costal wetlands and integrated river basin management

Benjamin Halpern
Professor, Director
University of California, Santa Barbara, NCEAS
Marine conservation, ocean health

Norichika Kanie
Keio University
Sustainable development goals, Earth system governance

Timothy Lenton
Director, Professor
Global Systems Institute, University of Exeter
Tipping points, climate, modelling

Diana Liverman
University of Arizona
Climate vulnerability, adaptation and sustainable development

David Obura
CORDIO (East Africa)
Coral reef ecology and sustainability

Veerabhadran Ramanathan
Edward A. Frieman Endowed Presidential Chair in Climate Sustainability
University of California at San Diego
Climate change, its solutions and nexus with air pollution
Peter Verburg
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam
Swiss Federal Institute WSL
Land change, social-ecological dynamics

Ricarda Winkelmann
Junior Professor
Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
Climate system analysis, ice dynamics, tipping points

The Earth Commission is convened by Future Earth, and the secretariat is co-hosted by Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) and International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA).

Nebojsa Nakicenovic
(Ex officio member of the Earth Commission)
Former Deputy Director General, IIASA
Former Professor, Vienna University of Technology
Integrated assessment models, economic and technological development, SDGs

UNEP’s International Resource Panel (IRP) is invited as observer organisation, providing important contributions regarding resources and materials.