Impacts of Meeting Minimum Access on Critical Earth Systems amidst the Great Inequality

Impacts of Meeting Minimum Access on Critical Earth Systems amidst the Great Inequality


Press release


Images and visualisations

  • Figure 1. The Great Inequality

  • Figure 2. Earth system Impacts of Just Access for 2018


  • Social Media Storykit Video

Paper details

Title: Impacts of Meeting Minimum Access on Critical Earth Systems amidst the Great Inequality

Link: (live when embargo lifts) DOI: 10.31235/ (pre-print prior to review)

Authors: Crelis F. Rammelt-a, Joyeeta Gupta-a, Diana Liverman-b, Joeri Scholtens-a, Daniel Ciobanu-a  , Jesse F. Abrams-c, Xuemei Bai-d, Lauren Gifford-b, Chris Gordon-e, Margot Hurlbert-f , Cristina Y. A. Inoue-g, h, Lisa Jacobson-i, Steven J. Lade-d, i, j, Timothy M. Lenton-c, David A. McKay-c,k,j, Nebojsa Nakicenovic-ll, Chukwumerije Okereke-m, Ilona M. Otto-n, Laura Pereira-o,j, Klaudia Prodani-a, Johan Rockström-p, Ben Stewart-Koster-q, Peter H. Verburg-r, Caroline Zimm-l

Author affiliations:
a University of Amsterdam
b University of Arizona
c University of Exeter
d Australian National University
e University of Ghana
f University of Regina
g Radboud University
h University of Brasilia
i Future Earth Secretariat
j Stockholm University
k Georesilience Analytics
l International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis
m Alex Ekwueme Federal University
n University of Graz
o University of the Witwatersrand
p Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research
q Australian Rivers Institute, Griffith University
r Vrije University


The Earth Commission is the first holistic attempt to scientifically define and quantify a safe and just corridor for people and planet, avoiding crossing irreversible tipping points. The Commission is hosted by Future Earth, the world’s largest network of sustainability scientists, and is the scientific cornerstone of the Global Commons Alliance, ​​a sponsored project of Rockefeller Philanthropy Advisors with support from Oak Foundation, MAVA, Porticus, Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Herlin Foundation and the Global Environment Facility. The Commission is also supported by the Global Challenges Foundation.The Commission is chaired by Prof. Dahe Qin (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China), Prof. Joyeeta Gupta (University of Amsterdam, Netherlands) and Prof. Johan Rockström (Potsdam Institute, Germany).