Earth Commissioner and Hydrologist, Taikan Oki, wins 2024 Stockholm Water Prize

Internationally recognised hydrologist, Professor Taikan Oki, has been named as the 2024 Stockholm Water Prize Laureate following his acclaimed work on the virtual water trade, digital river mapping and the inclusion of human activity in the water cycle.

Photograph of Professor Taikan Oki

Since 1991, the Stockholm Water Prize has been the world’s most prestigious water award and is given annually to people and organisations for their extraordinary water-related achievements. Professor Oki, who is a recently appointed Earth Commissioner, was pronounced the winner of the 2024 prize on 22 March, which is World Water Day.

“Professor Taikan Oki’s work has greatly advanced our understanding of the nexus among hydrology, climate change and sustainability. Through numerical modelling of complex systems, he has demonstrated exceptional scholarship that provides important insights into how humans alter water, climate, and the biosphere.” – Stockholm Water Prize Nominating Committee

Professor Oki is a professor at the University of Tokyo, based in the Department of Engineering at the Graduate School of Engineering in Japan. In addition to his professorship, Oki has served as Special Advisor to the President at the University of Tokyo, the Senior Vice Rector for the United Nations University, and the Assistant Secretary General at the United Nations.

“After getting this prize, I am eager to foster the younger generation and continue to contribute to the international academic community on hydrology. I also feel I must further contribute to solving the world’s water issues through research, like previous laureates.” – Professor Taikan Oki

As the latest Stockholm Water Prize Laureate, Professor Oki joins an impressive group of individuals whose knowledge and innovation has profoundly changed how exactly we understand and use water. 

Professor Oki is also a member of the Governing Council of Future Earth, and the Earth Commission is proud to have him as part of its second Commissioner cohort. Learn more about our Commissioners here.

Latest news