Event Replay: Earth System Boundaries For A Just World On A Safe Planet

Future Earth and the Earth Commission – a part of the Global Commons Alliance – held the ‘Earth systems boundaries for a just world on a safe planet’ on 31 May 2023.

The Earth Commission has defined a new set of boundaries that will inform science-based-targets for governments, cities and businesses to work toward, in order to secure a safe and just future in which humans and nature can thrive.

By centering justice at its heart, this new science represents a quantum leap in our ability to understand Earth’s capacity to sustain life, and the role we humans play as guardians of our only home and each other.

Watch the event reply below as we engage with this new scientific framework.

Program Highlights

  • Welcome and introduction
  • The safe and just framework
  • Earth system boundaries
  • Reflections from science
  • How to live within the boundaries
  • Stewarding the commons
  • Stakeholder perspectives: Implications and possible applications of Earth system boundaries
  • Q&A with the audience & closing remarks

Selected speakers

Dahe Qin

Co-Chair, Earth Commission and Director, Academic Committee of Chinese Academy of Sciences

Prof. Dr. Johan Rockström

Director, Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research

Joyeeta Gupta

Professor of Environment and Development in the Global South, Earth Commission

Wendy Broadgate

Director, Earth Commission and Global Hub Director Sweden, Future Earth

Deliang Chen

Professor, University of Gothenburg

Mattias Frumerie

Head of Delegation to UNFCCC, Swedish Ministry of Environment

Nonette Royo

Executive Director, The Tenure Facility

Anna Jöborn

Chief Executive Officer, Mistra

Åsa Persson

Research Director & Deputy Director, Stockholm Environment Institute

Lisen Schultz

Director of Education, Stockholm Resilience Centre

Varsha Vijay

Technical Director, Science Based Targets Network

Morten Højer

Chief Advisor on Climate and Economy, City of Copenhagen

Kaj Török

CSO, MAX Burgers

Jane Madgwick

Executive Director, Global Commons Alliance

Govindasamy Bala

Earth Commissioner and Professor, Indian Institute of Science

David Obura

Earth Commissioner and Director, CORDIO (East Africa)

Diana Liverman

Earth Commissioner and Professor, University of Arizona

Xuemei Bai

Earth Commissioner and Distinguished Professor, Australia National University

Kristie Ebi

Earth Commissioner and Professor, University of Washington

Christopher Gordon

Earth Commissioner and Associate Professor, University of Ghana

Peter Verburg

Earth Commissioner and Professor, Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

David Armstrong McKay

Research Scientist, Earth Commission and University of Exeter

Latest news